top of page
Writer's pictureAmelia Adcock

Artist Statement

In my art, I strive to express abstract thoughts on my perception of life and my experiences that lead to how I consume the world, as well as emotions that defy complete explanation, finding fulfillment and optimism in the unspoken. The beauty of multimedia, especially with sculptural elements allows me to explore limitless ideas related to the environment, nature, childhood nostalgia, darkness, struggle, sexuality, as well as personal and societal issues. Using black ink pens as my preferred medium, I cherish the freedom they provide for creating scratchy or messy marks, delving into a deep consciousness to achieve the desired look. What fulfills me in my artistic process is the uniqueness of my creations – each piece bears my distinct mark and style, reflecting my highest potential and the realization of my vision and goals.

Color choice plays a vital role in my work, with a preference for cool tones like reds, blacks, purples, and blues. Bright whites and the inclusion of metallic or shimmery materials enhance the visual impact. Using unique textures, such as rhinestones, adds dimension to my work. Contrary to more “perfect '' clean lines, I have learned to embrace my gestural mark, as it mirrors my inner thought process and allows me to see myself in the art. I rarely follow a strict plan, preferring to let the creative journey unfold organically. Starting with a base color, I depict main figures often involving human anatomy, like a rib cage, because I find visual appeal in the structure. Ultimately, my art aims to make viewers ponder about their perceptions of the world, inviting emotional engagement with the work and multiple interpretations. I strive for layers and openness, rejecting a singular meaning in favor of an art that resonates differently with each observer, fostering a deeper connection between the viewer and the artwork.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page