top of page
Writer's pictureAmelia Adcock

Figure Drawing w/ Tommy Van Auken- Reflection

I see improvement in my figures each time we work with Tommy- his guidance and advice help me learn more about myself with figure drawing in the short time we have. One thing that I found most helpful was taking a step back in intervals as I'm drawing, it allows me to see the bigger picture of both the model and drawing, comparing the size and shape of the two. Using the space to guide myself is also helpful- seeing the body and space as shapes in themselves rather than preconceived shapes of the human body is also very helpful. Something I noticed was that throughout the sessions, I lost some of the movement- I began to take fewer risks and overthink the process more. Capturing the raw quick motion I got in my gesture drawings in the more finished figure drawings is something to work on, my final drawings felt a bit rigid. I also want to experiment more with highlights and shadows, because we spent less time on that but it adds a lot of depth to the drawing.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page