top of page
Writer's pictureAmelia Adcock

Oil Painting Complete Process


  1. Subjects of my painting I chose in the composition that I based the painting off of for entire process. I based the composition on a triangle shape, which I feel tied the painting into a consistent whole that represents something.

  2. This was my preliminary sketch using charcoal, after adding base layers to prime the canvas and a red layer that brings warmth to the whole things. In first drawing the composition, it is important to pay attention to angles and point of view for a realistic outcome.

  3. After finishing the charcoal sketch, I added thin layers of "raw umber" to create a brumaire underpainting. This kind of underpainting brings more significant value and establishes a more dominant tone overall which offers a support for the rest of the process especially when creating shadows.

  4. At this point I have added preliminary highlights to the painting using thin layers of titanium white. This brings a lot of dimension the the piece and successful highlights.

  5. In the final stages of painting, when adding color it is important to focus on getting rid of lines and really enhancing shadows where they really are, making sure to pay attention to different shades throughout the composition.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page